Cell phones have become such a necessary part of American lives in such a short time. These devices are great for a number of obvious reasons, but they can also be a huge danger to all drivers on the road because they play a role in distracted driving.
That’s why New York and other states have begun to pass and enforce strict cell phone laws. But do you truly have a grasp on New York’s cell phone moving violation laws?
You should learn about these laws so you don’t unwittingly violate them and receive a traffic ticket. As you know, traffic tickets can have a negative impact on your driving record and your life.
It is illegal to use a cell phone or any portable electronic device while driving. Examples of illegal activity include but are not limited to the following:
If you’re convicted of a traffic violation for using your cell phone while driving, you’ll be subject to fines, and points will be added to your driving record. If you receive too many points in an eighteen-month period, you could lose your right to drive. See the table below for the fines and points associated with cell phone infractions:
|Offense||Fines and Points|
|First-offense cell phone infraction||$200 and five license points|
|Second-offense cell phone infraction (within an eighteen-month period)||$250 and five license points|
|Third or subsequent cell phone infraction (within an eighteen-month period)||$450 and five license points|
Not everyone is fully aware of the New York cell phone moving violation laws before receiving a ticket. If you’ve already been ticketed for using your cell phone while driving, don’t plead guilty to your traffic violation without speaking with an attorney first.
A New York traffic ticket attorney can help you fight and beat your ticket. Contact the Law Office of James Medows to schedule a free case review. Give us a call at 917-856-1247 or fill out the online contact form at the bottom of this page.