Here's What You Need to Know About Fines for Speeding in New York City | Law Office of James Medows

22 Oct Here’s What You Need to Know About Fines for Speeding in New York City

Here’s What You Need to Know About Fines for Speeding in New York City

Depending on where you live in the United States, a speeding ticket may not seem like a big deal, but you’d be surprised by the fines that can come from just one ticket in New York City. Fines have been increasing steadily in NYC over the past few years, and it’s important to know what to expect when you get pulled over by police officers looking to make money from traffic violations. Here’s what you need to know about your specific fine, based on where and how fast you were driving!

1) Point System

If you get a speeding ticket, you’ll likely get points on your license. And each time you get 12 points on your license within an 18-month period, it increases your insurance premium and goes onto your driving record. It doesn’t matter if you got three speeding tickets or three red lights: The DMV adds up all violations and will count them against you accordingly.

2) Fines

One of the biggest problems with speeding tickets is that they can get really, really expensive really, really quickly. Just an 11-mph overage on a 30-mph highway can land you $150 and six points against your license. Oh, and that’s just if you pay it off right away. If you don’t pay off that ticket fast enough (or at all), expect even steeper fines.

3) Insurance Rate Increase

If you go 25 miles per hour over the speed limit, you’ll receive two points on your license. If you accumulate 11 points, a DMV hearing will determine whether your license will be suspended. However, accumulating 12 points is very unlikely as getting a speeding ticket lowers your point total by one. So if you get a speeding ticket at 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, that will reduce your total from 11 down to 10.

4) Point Deduction

You’ll lose one point on your license if you’re caught speeding between 11-30 mph over posted speed limits. For example, if you’re pulled over for doing 50 in a 30 mph zone, you’ll lose one point. If it happens more than once within an 18-month period, you could face additional fines and suspension of your license. As always, consult with an attorney if you have questions about traffic tickets or whether they affect your insurance rates.