14 Oct All You Need to Know About NYC Traffic Tickets
Did you know that more than 700,000 New Yorkers receive traffic tickets every year? It’s true – and if you live in the city, you’re at risk of getting one, too. Here’s all you need to know about how to handle traffic tickets in New York City – what they are, how to pay them off, and everything else you need to know about dealing with them so you can stay out of trouble and avoid extra fines and fees down the road.
For example, if you get a speeding ticket of 11–20 mph over, it’ll cost you $85. Speeding tickets in New York City are added on top of each other; so if you get another one while still paying for an existing one, it’ll cost you even more.
A traffic ticket can appear on your driving record as a penalty assessed by your state. If you accumulate enough points, you may face additional penalties such as higher insurance rates or even suspension of your license. The penalties for accumulating points vary from state to state and may also depend on whether you were charged with a primary or secondary offense.
In New York City, traffic tickets can affect your insurance rates. In fact, many individuals have paid thousands of dollars in higher insurance premiums because of a single ticket they received for an infraction that was not considered dangerous or particularly egregious. To avoid paying hundreds or even thousands of dollars in increased premiums due to just one small traffic ticket, it’s important to understand how points are assigned and what you can do about them. Here’s what you need to know about tickets and insurance increases in New York City.
Reckless driving in New York City is when someone drives in willful or wanton disregard for…the rights or safety of others. The fines, penalties, and possible suspension periods depend on whether you were ticketed for careless driving or reckless driving. If you’re found guilty of careless driving in a non-commercial vehicle, you face a fine between $150 and $300, up to 15 days in jail (and a minimum 10 days), and a license suspension from three months to one year.